Accepting Critical Truth

Sit around, friends. And let me tell you a tale.

A tale of Browny– yours truly, and a young woman whom I contacted for a commission.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.27.58 PM

The story began back in November, when I contacted an artist who goes by MochaMofu on Twitter. Because of the incoming holidays, she informed me that any requests would have to wait for the new year (2017). Accepting this, I approached her again nearly three months later on February 11. Four days later, she responded, accepting my inquiry for a commission.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.31.25 PM

Later that same day, I provided Mocha with a link to a Google Drive folder containing a document with my request, as well as reference materials she’d need for the task. What I wanted were six icons of various characters, my only special request being that she ease up on the visual flourishes she favored in her shared work.

As you can see here, she agreed to the request without issue, giving me the price she deemed fair without my need to haggle. So confident was I in her ability to deliver, I chose to pay the entire commission up front.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.35.28 PM

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.36.16 PM

Mocha hadn’t even delivered the current commission and already I was eager to hire her again. It was at this point she gave me her estimate on the delivery of the icons I’d just commissioned: 1-2 weeks on account of other ongoing commissions.

Sounded fair to me; my icons were small, relatively easy items to do, but given an unknown workload on her end I was perfectly fine with the timeframe. In fact, I was happy, since it was much sooner than I originally anticipated.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.06.32 PM

I also took the time to ask her policy on sharing the images I’d commissioned, namely if it was okay for me to keep some of them private.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.10.47 PM

Nearly two weeks later, Mocha updated me. Technically, she only had a couple days after this to deliver the completed product, but I ignored this and was happy with the rough drafts she supplied in a Google Drive link. After giving her the OK to wrap the commission up, there was silence.

For three weeks.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.13.08 PM.png

Having finally tired of the silence, and on top of the fact she was now three weeks overdue, I sent the response seen above. Naturally I was rather upset, she had failed to even inform me of the delay, and I did not resist the temptation to let her know I was no longer confident in her ability to deliver on her promises.

The update she claims here was hardly substantial, mind you. At this point in time, the images had hardly changed since the March 1 link; not a single one was colored in, so what this “progress” was I could not say. I sadly do not have proof of this, as I never expected to be making this very post you’re reading now.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.17.01 PM

Immediately following her response, I sent these three messages. I felt the need to apologize, as I may have stepped out of line in my anger. She never responded to this.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.18.10 PM

Two days later, that is to say today, March 22, I finally received the finished product. It took her 35 days to complete the commission. A commission she said would take 1-2 weeks.

Delays happen. I understand this. But the fact she took three weeks longer than planned and did not inform me was unprofessional. But you know what? Who cares? I got the icons, they’re fabulous work, and I’m happy.

So happy was I, I was in the process of sending Mocha another private message to ask once again about the sharing of the images, and to let her know I was about to tag her in a tweet showing some of the icons. That’s when Twitter let me know that I would be unable to send that private message.

Because this happened:

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.22.23 PM.png

Confused, I wondered if my earlier messages had in some way offended Mocha. I figured the apologies I gave sufficient, but in any case I wasn’t about to stress this.

Until a friend of mine shared something else.

01

0203

So… let’s break this down individually, shall we?

You admit fault in not contacting me sooner. That’s good, it was your mistake, especially with a commission that was already more than double the initially estimated time overdue. And yes, I did say I wasn’t confident about hiring you a second time. That wasn’t a threat, and I’m sorry a plain statement like that offended your delicate sensibilities so much you perceived it as a threat.

The nasty customer bit? Yeah, I said that. Why? Because I wasn’t so upset as to cause a stink. I did want to point out however that she was in the wrong by failing to update me. Nevertheless, I apologized for my outburst, because I admitted I was in the wrong and meant no ill will by it.

Next: the money was not important to me. I paid you what you asked for, and I did so entirely up front as a show of my faith in your ability.

March 24 EDIT:

I made a mistake here, Mocha did quote me a price in November prior to taking on the commission. I honestly forgot this exchange, which I will provide here:

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 4.17.44 PM

In light of this information, I will apologize for the statement (which follows this paragraph in bold italics). However, I maintain that if your prices went up, you should have told me up front. Keeping it to yourself and then using it against me as though you did me a favor wins you no points. You gave me a price, and I paid it.

And no, you did not quote low before. You only ever gave ONE quote, that was on February 15 when you finally saw what it is I wanted drawn. You never gave me a quote before that, so this fantasy you’re spinning about low-balling me and then feeling bad about raising the price on me? Not gonna fly.

Never mind the fact that once you give a price and that price is paid in full, asking for more looks bad on your part without valid explanation. And considering you were already running late?

The last bit shows my friend Ashley tossing some truth at Mocha after I shared the story with her. Mocha’s response? Ashley was softblocked as well. Seems the truth is toxic to the girl.

Mocha’s work is quality stuff. I would never say otherwise. I’m happy with it.

But if this is how she responds to fair criticism? To being told she was late in delivering a product she promised? A time table she set herself? Well, it speaks volumes.

A little “friendly” advice: in the real world, if you’re late with the job, you get called out. Throwing a fit and painting me the villain might have made you feel better, but you got a long way to go before I’d ever consider you a true professional.

Learn from these mistakes. And next time, don’t immediately run to your followers looking to shit talk the very person who was trying to thank you for the work you’d just completed.

Oh, and insults are unnecessary. That’s just juvenile.

Article Edit: Ashley was softblocked, not blocked. Correction was made.

Accepting Critical Truth

Leave a Reply

